Why are women so mean?

image.jpg

There are so many pressures placed upon women in society these days and most of these are being caused by other women. We have become a group of people who shame other’s for their differences and these are not valid criticisms, they often consist of insecurities felt by those doing the shaming. I myself am guilty of jealousy towards others, as I think is quite natural, however what isn’t natural is our sudden ability and ultimately acceptance to vocalise our jealousy and receive justification of this on social media platforms. It has become normalised behaviour to spread words of hatred to others and I witnessed this firsthand when a blog chastising a breastfeeding support group (rightly or wrongly) choose to end it with a insulting suggestion that the breastfeeders were most likely disgruntled due to their sore nipples and wonky boobs. Girls are mean, however they don’t need to be. Who are we competing with? In the above example a blogger attempting to discuss an important issue resorted in insulting fellow women to (what I can only assume) prove her point. This doesn’t just occur in this form, there are people continually posting negative comments on photos that are irrelevant to them. This is becoming issue for me solely because one day my daughter will be old enough to read these things and feel these feelings and if we cannot address them for ourselves then surely we can do it for our girls and our boys.

I’m not above acts of hurt and upset as previously I have done things That have caused others pain however I am wanting to start something, I don’t know what and I don’t really know how. I want to encourage solidarity in women and look to empower them because I don’t always feel fabulous, I don’t always feel beautiful, I barely have anything together, but what I do have is skin and this skin is like everyone else it’s not that deep and words hurt.

So I want to transform this blog into Something comforting to other women whether these be single women, married women or mothers, young or old. I also want some contributors to share their fears and hopes for educating the future of women and quite frankly help us grow our boys into fabulous men.

One thought on “Why are women so mean?

Leave a Reply

